Hiring New Workers
South Carolina New Hire Reporting Program
When you hire new employees, you must report those hires through the New Hire Reporting program. It is a database administered by the S.C. Department of Social Services (DSS) and used by DEW to identify individuals who are working and collecting UI benefits.
Reporting new hires helps keep the Unemployment Insurance tax costs low by ensuring that only eligible individuals receive UI benefits.
If an employer fails to report newly hired or rehired employees, penalty* fines start at second offense:
- $25 for the second offense and $25 for each offense thereafter; or
- $500 for each and every offense, if the failure to report is the result of a conspiracy between the employer and the employee not to supply the required information or to supply false or incomplete information.
*Penalties are enforced by DSS
South Carolina law requires all employers to verify new employees’ legal status and prohibits employment of any worker who is illegally in this country and not authorized to work.
Refusing an offer of employment
If an individual turns down an offers of work, you should report it to DEW as they may no longer qualify for for UI benefits. Learn more here.